Coming Events

Events related to urban wildlife, social history or The Green London Way  -and led by Bob Gilbert- include:


2018

Friday 11 May - Sunday 13 May
Flora Britannica; a weekend on wild flowers, their history, folklore and religious connections
Hilfield Friary, Hilfield, Dorset
Details to be published on the web-site hilfieldfriary.org.uk or contact  hilfieldssf@franciscans.org.uk

Saturday 22 November  9.15-5.30
'1968; Rethinking the Legacy'
Bob Gilbert will be speaking at this all day conference on 'Replacing the Local'
One University Square, Stratford, London E15 1NF
Tickets £15/£7.50 from bit/ly/RETHINKING-1968

Wednesday 7 November 7.30pm
Bob will be speaking on his new book 'Ghost Trees: Wildlife and People in a London Parish'
Broadway Bookshop, 6 Broadway Market, Hackney, London E8 4QJ

Wednesday 21 November  6.0 - 8.0pm

Our Kind of Town Public Lecture

Bob will be speaking on 'Greenery and Greed – The Loss of Natural London
IAS Forum Room G17 South Wing at University College London Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
Free 

Saturday 1 December 2.0 - 3.0pm
Bob will be speaking on his new book 'Ghost Trees: Wildlife and People in a London Parish'
Poplar Ideas Store, Chrisp Street Market, East India Dock Road, London E14 6BT

Thursday 6 December 9.30am - 4.30 pm
Writer-in-residence for a day at the Poplar Union Cafe. Drop in at any time.
Poplar Union, 2 Cottall Street, Poplar, London E14 6TL

Sunday 16 December 2.0pm
As part of a 'Deep Ecology' day Bob will be introducing and reading from his new book 'Ghost Trees: London and Wildlife in a London Parish'
London Buddhist Centre, 51 Roman Road, Bethnal Green, London E2 0HG.  Free

2019

Friday 18 January  7.30pm
A screening of the film 'Koyaanisqatsi' followed by Q and A with Bob Gilbert
Poplar Union, 2 Cottall Street, Poplar, London E14 6TL. Free  

Saturday 16 March
Speaking at Wimbledon Bookfest.
Details to follow

Sunday 12 May, 2.0 - 3.30pm
Guided walk of the trees and other wildlife of the area 
Poplar Union, 2 Cottall Street, Poplar, London E14 6TL. Free  

Sunday 19 May 
Beating of the Bounds of the Parish of Poplar
Details to follow

Friday 14 June
Saturday 15 June
Talk and walk at Greenwich Literary Festival
Details to follow

Saturday 25 August
Sunday 26 August
Talk and walk at Greenbelt Festival
Details to follow











  







Comments